Random nonsense

The beggining of WordPress

Yes, i have once again changed my blogging services. This time a little without warning. You may be wondering why? well then this post is for you!

Blogger was a welcome step up from my previous blogging service. It allowed me complete flexibility. I could literally put whatever i want, where ever i want. The world was my blogging oyster. But with that freedom came alot of work. All of which, fell on me.

For those not familiar with blogger, your website is rendered from a central template. literally everything comes from how that template is written. I had changed my template several times, and every time you change your style, you must adapt your template to fit. which meansalot of editing.

WordPress however, while still being somewhat less flexible in terms of templates, makes up for it in ease of use. Everything is separate, and stays the same from template to template. I can change my style 5 times a day without worrying about updating my sidebar and changing my posting template.

I also feel that wordpress is a more refined blogging service. infact, most people when they think of a blog, think of a wordpress blog. and i feel the same way. I think that wordpress is more in-touch with the way that the internet is changing (Web 2.0), and therefore provides me with cooler features. Not to mention everything else that works with wordpress
Such as native sub-pages. You may remember my clever hack to make subpages in blogger. sure it worked for what it was, but the true beauty of sub-pages comes with the wordpress templates. also blog categories. Forget about technorati tags, catagories are what its all about.

And all of this is built into the online editor. Meaning my blogging is completely mobile again! Goodbye zoundry, Hello freedom!

Basically, i am very happy and excited about this new change. as you ca see, all my old blogger posts are here too, so its like i never left. If you want/need the new feed, its right here. this is a great change, so feedback is appreciated.

Again, nothing has changed except where i do my blogging / podcasting. and it looks ALOT nicer too lol.

9 responses

  1. Ander

    you bite.

    Tuesday, March 28, 2006 at 9:53 pm

  2. Cool! I have few questions though:

    1. is wordpress hosting your blog for free, or do you pay for this? If it’s free, are there any limitations (like size of the blog and etc..)?

    2. Do they do some limited image hosting like blogger does, or do you need to host your own pictures?

    3. Did it automatically import your blogger blog or did you have to hack it into submission.

    4. What are, in your oppinion the biggest advantages of wordpress over blogger, other than the template structure and categories?

    I’m asking, because I’m thinking about moving away from blogger too. I eventually want to host the blog myself, but I’m looking into different options here.

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 3:02 am

  3. 1) WordPress is hosting this for free. Not sure about size limitations but i don’t think its anything inconvenient

    2) There seems to be a file upload form when you make a new post, so i assume i can upload pictures there, or maybe even sound files (Podcast!)

    3) it has an import function to catch up on you old blogger / typepad / movable type blogs. as you can see, it even got the commetns!

    4) I love the catagoris, sub pages, and link management system. Everything is automatically sorted alphabetically, and it stays there anytime i change templates. theres also the abundance of feeds! feeds for entries, comments, post catagories, Anything!.

    Theres also a built in stat management system, Similar to something like sitemeter. it gives you referal hits, search engine hits and so forth.

    And theres a handy dashboard when you log in, that gets you up to date on everything with your blog (recent comemnts, posts, total stats, incoming trackbacks)

    WordPress is definetly a welcome break away from blogger for me. try it out and see how you like it.

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 3:16 am

  4. I just created an account to test it. It is really neat. I like how all the controls are Ajaxified 😛

    One thing though… How do I edit my template? I use alot of custom css and javascript to redefine how my blog handles code tags, blockquote tags, acronym tags, dfn tags and title attributes on links… So I need to see the css used to generate this page, and I need to be able to inject stuff into the page header to make my blog do what I want it to do.

    The presentation tab only seems to allow me to change the template, modify the header and sidebar… This seems so limited… In fact, the official FAQ states that they do not allow this type of customization at the time…

    Sigh… I really like tweeking things, and knowing that I can really change customize single part of my blog is really important to me…

    The engine is definitely very nice, and seems to be much more advanced and progressive than blogger’s interface. But I think I’ll stay with my old service which offers me full customizability for the time being…

    Since I’m thinking about getting some hosting space and a domain at some point in the future, I will keep wordpress in mind. The source is avaliable out there, so once I download it and install it somewhere I should be able to tweek as much as I want 🙂

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 12:30 am

  5. Definitly. WordPress hosted accts are somewhat limited, but really i don’t need to play around with the details for normal blogging. That was the main attraction for me for blogger at first, but i never really used it alot.

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 12:34 am

  6. Oh yeah, and i cant get enough of these AJAX controls. SO COOL!!

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 12:39 am

  7. Ander

    dood, honestly this does not look at all better. theres no color. and if blogger has more freedom with changing stuff to be exactly what you want, then what is the point?
    i see what youre saying with the sidebar being wiped if you change template, but its not too hard for me to have saved it on a wordpad and then to copy it back in.
    or, even simpler, just copy/paste.

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 2:06 pm

  8. Ander

    Hannah agrees with me, btw. and she’s not looking at it from a coding view cause i do all that for her.
    There’s no pictures or anything on your sidebar anymore. what used to be a cool looking colorful array of matt-snizz is now nothing but plain words and links which are all the same one or two colors. This is like bogging for old people who cant handle vibrant colors without running the risk of a heart attack. lol.
    thanks for the explanation of the podcasting tho, i needed that =P

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 2:10 pm

  9. You have to look at it from a different pespective too. Those pictures and sidebar thingies were just existential distractions. Sure they were cool, but who cared what i listened to that week on last.fm anyways?

    My professors have started reading my blog, amoung other people, so i want something thats a little more professional looking.

    And even if its not as flexible as blogger, wordpress is definiatly considered to be the best blogging solution. Its like getting a free cadilac LOL. Theres so much built into it that blogger doesnt even have, and i like that theres so little i have to manage to keep my blog the way i like.

    And there is a picture of me, in the About Me subpage lol.

    Wednesday, March 29, 2006 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

