Random nonsense

I am torn

On my way to work I was listening to Inside the Net where they were interviewing Mena Trott, co-founder of six apart.  six apart started by making wordpress (this blog is on wordpress), which has since become the most wideply used standalone blogging software.  they later went on to create typepad, a dulled down version but still widely used.  then with all this revenue, they aquisitioned Livejournal.  now with the experiance and back-end-knowledge of all 3 they are creating a new product, called Vox.  and through out the whole interview they kept comparing it to LJ, while also saying that the software itself made it fun to blog.

And it just got me thinking.  Have i lost the fun of blogging?  i thought wordpress would bring it back, but really being in the public domain changes the experiance of blogging (vox is very private, and LJ has the option to be private).  I remember in my early days on Xanga, blogging was actually fun.

So the issue i have been battling inside my head is this.  I want to blog.  I want it to be social, but i also want it to be easy and accessible.  Right now WordPress is very easy, and somewhat accessible.  LJ is very private, hence making it very social, but in itself is a whole system and community.

The main question is, do i stay in the public domain and remain remote, or do i move to LJ and remove myself from the public, while emrsing myself with my friends.  There are obvious pros and cons to both sides.

So please let me know what you think in the comments.

2 responses

  1. For me, LJ is a closed circuit community. It seems to have it’s own group mentality. Most LJ bloggers just read their friend’s journals, and never venture outside and discover interesting blogs.

    I like having my own domain, and the freedom that comes with it. Downside of that is the fact that some LJ people will never read me.

    This is why my friend, who has the paid LJ account, set up a feed syndication for me: http://syndicated.livejournal.com/terminallyinc/

    My LJ friends can add it to their friends list, and see the new posts as they appear on my blog. So I can keep in touch with the LJ crowd, whithout using LJ myself.

    Of course, there is nothing stopping you from doing both at the same time. You can have an “official” or thematic wordpress blog, and a private personal LJ account.

    Monday, July 17, 2006 at 1:37 pm

  2. olieksjandier

    Here are some links that I believe will be interested

    Tuesday, August 8, 2006 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

