Random nonsense

First Impressions of the new Rec Center

So after 3 years of construction, the new Rec Center is finally open as of yesterday.  I went last night to do some cardio, and check the place out.  Honestly, my first impression was that it reminded me of Project Graduation, which was at Fairleigh Dickinson Madison’s Rec Center.

The facility is very nice, and comfortable, which is a welcome change from working out in Panzer, which reminded me of my high school weight room.  Seriously, the second largest school in New Jersey shouldn’t be similar to my small town’s high school weight room.  So this is a very welcome change.

There’s a whole lot of machines, which is a great improvement from 3 treadmills in Panzer.  My first complaint however is the lack of televisions.  I distinctly remember being promised at least 9 plasma screens with wireless headsets.  I don’t necessarily need them in order to workout, but with a busted ipod that I can’t use, I was kind of hoping to be able to watch something while I was working out.

My major concern however is of course, vandalism.  It’s only a matter of time before people start stealing the free towels, and wipe down bottles, making the gym experience crappier for the rest of us.  And I expect to see the number of police reports containing the words “stolen from an unsecured locker in the rec center” to skyrocket.

But really, it’s a place that I can definitely see myself spending a lot more time in once I get a gym bag together.  Which is probably better than spending my off time playing WOW in the Montclarion office.

Leave a Reply

