Random nonsense

Montclair State Citadel

So today there was a threat against campus. MSC pulled out all the stops to keep the campus safe. Here’s a look at how my day has been so far.

Heres me leaving the apartment. I have my gym bag and backpack, along with my camera and headphones. I hope the cops don’t think my gym shorts are deadly weapons.

_MG_2473

Next I walked down Clove Road and onto campus. Heres some cops keeping the Child Care center safe.

_MG_2482

No one at the Village or Clove Road though. That makes me feel safe.

_MG_2476
_MG_2488

Here I am past Checkpoint Charlie The Clove Road Entrance. Nobody checked either of my bags, just an ID flash. I say ID flash because they weren’t checking anything. It’s just a piece of plastic. A piece of plastic that all the alumni keep after they graduate. Again, an overwhelming sense of security.

_MG_2489

After that, I walked down to Quinn road to take more pics. Here’s the snipers on top of Bohn.

_MG_2533

Here’s Police HQ in lot 22.

_MG_2560

There wasn’t much going on at the Quinn road entrance, so I walked north up Valley road. When I walked back onto campus at freeman, I got ID flashed again. This officer on the left was the only person who looked through my bags all day. I just had my camera bag then.

_MG_2623

But, then when I walked down to the Newman Catholic center, this is what I found.

_MG_2627
_MG_2629

NOTHING! I was literally walking onto campus, no bag check, no ID flash. I even walked past these officers, right near the top of the walkway. They didn’t even ask to see anything.

_MG_2632

After that I decided to see how well the President’s house was guarded. She makes more money that G.W. Bush you know, and he has the secret service. I’m sure her house had to be on extra lock down.

_MG_2645
_MG_2646

NOPE! Then I went and took a look at the Montclair Heights train station. Surely, there must be a police presence there.

_MG_2666

Sadly no, but wait, whats this? I walked across the street and back onto campus. No cops?

_MG_2667

This patrol vehicle saw me, didn’t stop.

_MG_2671

As did these guys.

_MG_2663
_MG_2655

So for the second time today, I’ve walked onto a locked down campus, with no ID flash or bag check. After that, I decided it was time to work my way back to the office. I went up to the top of the Red Hawk Deck. This officer from WPU stopped me and said no one was allowed on 8. apparently 7 is ok though.

_MG_2680

Can you see the snipers in this picture?

_MG_2686

Here they are!

_MG_2685

And to perfectly capture the mood of the day, My roommate Dan…

_MG_2692

..Wearing a bullseye.

Heres some bonus pics to make you feel extra safe.

_MG_2699
_MG_2485
_MG_2642

And my favorite. The kid in blue was wearing a Seton Hall shirt. Obviously a terrorist.

_MG_2541

HAVE A SAFE AND SECURE DAY!

7 responses

  1. Nice pictorial! Sadly, it is very difficult to prevent something bad from happening, possible to contain it and minimize damage, but it is very difficult to completely stop a single individual if they really have bad intentions.

    Thursday, April 10, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  2. Dan with the bulls-eye = ultimate win.

    I wasn’t on campus much at all today – came back from Will’s at about 2:00 and went straight to campus. Got barked at on the shuttle by a cop, walked in front of University Hall where there were two different news vans, got up to work, and I’ve been here since. Great documentation of the day’s events, though.

    Thursday, April 10, 2008 at 6:03 pm

  3. Milos- Thats true. I’m just concerned because I am just as much of a suspect as anyone else. I have a class in the room the threat was made in, and I was free to do whatever I pleased today, except for the RHD.

    Thursday, April 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm

  4. classof1994alum

    Here’s a free headline for ya: “Montclair State or State of Israel?”

    or “Baghdad U” …

    Friday, April 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

  5. paul

    Poor exposure on all photos.

    in situations like this, snipers want their presence known; in civilian theaters that alone is a major deterrent for bad behavior.

    Saturday, April 12, 2008 at 6:35 am

  6. michael

    Interesting camera perspective on what may have been a fear-filled day for some. If you could have captured Montclair’s best effort, what images would your photographs contained?

    I liked the splattered mirror…nice effect.

    Friday, April 18, 2008 at 2:58 pm

  7. What do you mean? This was their best effort…

    Friday, April 18, 2008 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

