Random nonsense

MSU Parking, Business as usual

This will be my 5th year attending MSU, and every year it seems that Parking & Transportation Services are getting worse and worse.  Let’s start from the begining.

My freshman year was the last year that freshman would be allowed to have cars on campus.  The next year they banned freshman from the lots and made them park in the NJTransit deck.  Even though I had freshman credits, they sold me a parking permit through their online system.  Though I was happy with this, it would still be considered an error on their part.

My third year was the first year they banned sophmores as well.  Again they sold me a surface permit, but it was for the wrong lot.  When I contacted them on the phone they said they could change it in the office, but when I brought it in they actually took it back and told me to expect a refund.  That’s right, if I had kept the permit for the lot on the other side of campus I wouldn’t have had to pay another $125 for one semester of NJTransit.  They told me that they sold incorrect permits and could only rectify this when people came into their office under false pretenses, and confiscate their illegal passes.

My 4th year was ok until I tried to park on campus during winter break.  While I had residence in The Village, I was commuting from home and working at IT.  At lunch on my first day, I returned to my car to find a $40 parking ticket.  That’s right, I paid the same parking fee as the commuter students, only to have access to fewer lots, even when campus is litterally empty.  So I had to park further away.  I was still mad but I got to work and I got paid so no big deal.

This year might just be the worst yet.  This is a compound of ResLife’s bullshit along with parking services.  Because I have lived on campus for 4 years, reslife is forcing me to live in the hotels.  I’ve since come to terms with that.  And honestly, im looking for an appartment with a few friends so whatever.  But, I assumed that because I had my car, I wouldn’t have to deal with the stupid shuttle.  I was wrong.  As a hotel resident, I can’t apply for a surface permit, and as a senior I can’t apply for a NJTransit permit.  WTF?!?

I know they want cars off of the surface lots and off campus but this is ridiculous.  But with my job early in the morning and my newspaper responsibilities taking me into the evening, there is no way I could deal within the restraints of MSU’s limited shuttle to the hotels.

And from what I hear, the EPark system also reckognizes first year grad students as freshman undergrads.  And good luck calling their office.  From what I’ve seen, both as a customer and an IT tech, the clerks at the parking office are content to get paid just for sitting on their ass.  I would get fired before I could think about it if I pulled that shit at IT.  Even going in to buy a permit, putting money in their pockets, gets a groan and a sigh because they have to get out of their office chair.

I believe that the EPark system was selling permits for a total of 30 minutes before it crashed.  I believe that’s a new record.  Seriously, with all the money they get for over priced permits and rediculous parking fines, you would think they could afford a system that could hold up to a campus of 16,000 trying to buy permits.  Not even printing them out, just confirming them and storing them in a database.

When people talk about the shitty parking here on campus, it’s not just the lack of space.  It’s due to the lack of a brain power at the Parking office.  Seriosuly, WTF is going on down there???

9 responses

  1. jerry

    I don’t think they know what the hell their doing… i can’t figure out their system, I’m trying to get a freshman surface permit. buffoonery

    Monday, August 18, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  2. That’s correct – when it was first up, it thought I was a freshman, only allowing me to buy a weekend pass. This was bull. When Parking went back up last night, I was able to get a permit, but still – this is the biggest load of shit MSU has ever pulled on me.

    Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 8:12 am

  3. What can I say. Classic. I’ve been at this school long enough to realize that this is to be expected. We call this kind of things “The MSU Way” as in:

    “There is the right way to do this, the wrong way to do this, and the MSU way to do this which is worse than the other two.”

    Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 1:10 am

  4. jerry

    Why wasn’t this told to students when visiting tours were taken. I know schools like to put their best foot forward, but how about truth.

    What’s really sad is that this seems to be a on going problem for years, has anyone been held accountable for this cluster F**k. All those people @MSU with doctor degrees and degrees coming out of the A**, yet know one can figure out a reasonable parking system and a student notification protocol with proper information. Matthew who is to be held accountable for all this confusion.

    Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 9:11 am

  5. Helen

    Hey quick question. I’m non-mteric and MU, and only go there once a week. Where is the best place to park (meter’d ) anything. I was told by the office that I need a regular student pass (even though Id be visiting a the campus a total of 4 times a month) that has a rediculous cost.

    Any suggestions welcomed!

    Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 10:08 am

  6. @Helen the red hawk deck is all metered pay as you leave. There are meters behind the diner and next to the rec center as well but those are pay as you go.

    Saturday, September 13, 2008 at 9:11 am

  7. Jessica

    I recently got a parking ticket in a meter that I had 5 minutes left in. Someone pulled in behind me and I got their email because they’re willing to back me up on the issue. I appealed the violation, but just got a letter saying that my violation has been “upheld”. I’m going to try and meet with someone tomorrow, but if they don’t listen to me I’m fighting the ticket. Its horrible that someone working there is even writing tickets for people who have paid their meter!

    Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 8:00 pm

  8. Montclair Sucks!

    I probably can’t stand MSU more than anyone. But I understand why they do all this— because everyone lets them get away with it!!! I just read the blog + comments, and all people say is oh it’s bullshit or I’m gonna “try” to meet with someone, or I got paid at work so I got the ticket. Or they stuck me in that fucking God awful hotel, but I can deal with that.
    How bout don’t get a parking permit and park on Valley!! It takes less time to walk to campus from Valley than it does from the Transit Deck or some surface lots!
    It sucks that we can’t arrange for 12,000 students to not have their cars on campus for a day, for many reasons it’s almost impossible, but think of all the MONEY$$$$ they would lose . This is the reason. Universities are a big business, like an evil corporation. They do everything possible to get the most money out of you.
    The only way to approach big business and bureaucracy is with boycott and protests, but we’re all too complacent for that aren’t we.

    Monday, April 13, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  9. YourNameHere

    You spelled “recognizes” wrong.

    Tuesday, August 31, 2010 at 7:01 am

Leave a Reply

